Sunday, April 10, 2011


The Government of India (Allocation of Business) Rules, 1961, continue to govern the administration of India. As per these rules, the President of India functions under Article 77 of the constitution of India. The ministries/departments of the Government of India have been created by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister under these rules. The business of the Government of India is transacted in the ministries/departments, secretariats and offices as per the distribution of subjects specified in these rules. Each of the ministry is assigned to a Minister by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister. Each ministry/department is under the charge of a Secretary who works under the instructions of the Minister, whenever one is there, for his ministry/department.

The Cabinet Secretariat is responsible for secretarial assistance to the Cabinet, its committees and ad hoc groups of Ministers, and for maintenance of records of their decisions and proceedings. The Secretariat monitors implementation of the decisions/directions of the Cabinet/Cabinet 0mitteeS/grOUp5 of Ministers etc. The Secretariat is also responsible for the administration of the Government of India (Transaction of Business) Rules, 1961 and facilitates smooth transaction of business in ministries/departments of the government by ensuring adherence to these rules.

The Cabinet Secretariat ensures that the President, the Vice President and ministers are kept informed of the major activities of all ministries/departments by means of monthly summary reports. Management of major crisis situations in the country and coordinating activities of various ministries in such a situation is also one of the functions of this Secretariat.

On 15th August, 1947, number of ministries at the centre was 18. As on July 22, 1997, the Government of India consisted of the following ministries/departments :

1. Ministry of Agriculture — Department of Agricultural Research and Education, Department of Agriculture and Cooperation, and Department of Animal Husbandry and Dairying.

2. Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers — Department of Chemicals and Petro-Chemicals, Department of Fertilizers.

3. Ministry of Civil Aviation and Tourism — Department of Civil Aviation, Department of Tourism.

4. Ministry of Coal.

5. Ministry of Commerce, Department of Commerce, Department of Supply.

6. Ministry of Communications — Department of Posts, Department of Telecommunications.

7. Ministry of Defence - Department of Defence, Department of Defence Production, and Supplies, Department of Defence Research and Development.
8. Ministry of Environment and Forests.
9. Ministry of External Affairs.
10. Ministry of Finance — Department of Economic Affairs, Dept. of Expenditure, Dept. of Revenue, Dept. of Company Affairs.
11. Ministry of Food and Consumer Affairs — Dept. of Food and Civil Supplies, Dept. of Consumer Affairs, Dept. of Sugar and Edible Oils.
12. Ministry of Food Proeessing Industries.
13. Ministry of Health and Family Welfare — Dept. of Health, Dept. of Family Welfare, Dept. of Indian Systems of Medicines and Homeopathy.
14. Ministry of Home Affairs — Dept. of Internal Security, Dept. of States, Dept. of Official Language, Dept. of Home.
15. Ministry of Human Resource Development — Dept of Education, Dept, of Youth Affairs, Dept. of Culture, Dept. of Women and Child Development.
16. Ministry of Industry — Dept. of Industrial Development, Dept. of Heavy Industry, Dept. of Public Enterprises, Dept. of Small Scale Industries and Agro and Rural Industries, Dept. of Industrial Policy and Promotion.
17. Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.
18. Ministry of Labour.
19. Ministry of Law and Justice — Dept. of Legal Affairs,
Legislative Dept., Dept. of Justice.
20. Ministry of Mines.
21. Ministry of Non-Conventional Energy Sources.
22. Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions — Dept. of Personnel and Training, Dept. of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances, Dept. of Pensions and Pensioners’ Welfare.
23. Ministry of parliamentary Affairs.
24. Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas.
25. Ministry of Planning and Programme Implementation — Dept. of Planning, Dept. of Statistics, Dept. of Plan Implementation.
26. Ministry of Power.
27. Ministry of Railways.
28. Ministry of Rural Areas and Employment Dept. of Rural Development, Dept. of Wasteland Development, Dept. of Rural Employment and Poverty Alleviation.
29. Ministry of Science and Technology — Dept. of Science and Technology, Dept. of Scientific and Industrial Research, Dept. of Bio-Technology.
30. Ministry of Steel.
31. Ministry of Surface Transport.
32. Ministry of Textiles.
33. Ministry of Urban Affairs and Employment — Dept. of Urban Development, Dept. of Urban Employment and Poverty Alleviation.
34. Ministry of Water Resources.
35. Ministry of Welfare.
36. Department of Atomic Energy.
37. Department of Electronics.
38. Department of Jammu and Kashmir Affairs.
39. Department of Ocean Development.
40. Department of Space.
41. Cabinet Secretariat.
42. President’s Secretariat.
43. Prime Minister’s Office.
44. Planning Commission

No comments:

Post a Comment